When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states that the Carlton Park is visited most compared to Stanley Park. This theory seems to overlook the fact that a park is not just about providing ample seating. The author fails to consider other parameters such as location, surroundings and décor. Even if people prefer Carlton Park maybe it’s because of the facilities that it provides.

Firstly, the author has compared the Stanley park which is situated in a town with Carlton Park situated in a business district. Maybe, this is the reason that people prefer going to Carlton park which is nearby rather than opting for a park situated in a town. To make the issue more convincing, the author says that the recordings from the video camera showed an average of 50 cars per day. This sentence itself has so many flaws in it. Firstly, he has considered only the parking lot video cameras which is not enough to conclude a statement. People mostly prefer to walk to park than to drive. Also, he considered the number of cars and not the number of people. If the author is considering a car, then it’s not necessary that the number of people in a car would be same to that of others. This is a major drawback of the statement. Also, the author has concluded his issue on the basis of taking the average number of cars per day. The author needs to reinforce a statistical data of both the parks considering the number of people visited, not just of a day. Maybe, if he could have provided the data of at least a month or conduct a survey which would have make the argument stronger.

The argument with such obvious loopholes and fallacies does not stand up to a more careful scrutiny. In the absence of conventional data, the argument is unsubstantiated and hence the reader’s stand is vindicated.