Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author in the presented argument derives a conclusion about origin of a woven basket characterized by a particular distinctive pattern. He concludes that even though they were initially only spotted in Palea, the recent discovery of similar baskets by archaeologists in another village Lithos which is across a deep and broad river with no signs of Palean boats means that these baskets were not uniquely Palean. Although this line of reasoning faintly supports the conclusion, exploring the hidden assumptions could result in useful insights that can further strengthen the conclusion or open up alternative theories.

The author mentions only two probable origins for the baskets when they could have been indigenous to a place that the author might have failed to even consider. Some people from prehistoric times were nomadic, meaning they moved from one place to another frequently, just carrying some essentials with them. It is possible that these people (who are native to neither Palea nor Lithos) might have used these baskets to store their essentials during their journey. And these nomads could have even traveled from places that are astronomically far away from Palea or Lithos. Unless the author explores this possibility, the probability of the woven baskets belonging to Palea or Lithos will remain equal to that of any other place in the world and that means the evidence provided in the argument does not fully support the conclusion.

Building upon the implication that the river separating the two villages is broad and deep and no Palean boats were found, the author suggests that the baskets could have been made by villagers of Lithos also. In doing so, the author has neglected a basic viewpoint which is, the acts of nature. The river currents could have carried them from one side to the other. Or, The baskets could have been light enough for a strong wind to lift them up from Palea and drop them precisely in the vicinity of Lithos or vice-versa. If winds are the medium, that makes it even more difficult to identify the exact origin of these baskets. The author can examine the weather conditions of these places or other places close by to evaluate a conclusion based on more meaningful insights.

Additionally, if we play close attention to “no palean boats have been found”, we would notice that the author somehow specifically looked for the presence or absence of only palean boats. Were there Lithos boats in the river banks? Were there any boats at all? These are some of the questions the author needs to find answers for. They could really help in figuring out a potential medium by which the baskets could have been transported from one village to another. Again, circling back to the second paragraph, if boats were a means of transport, the actual place of origin for these baskets could be anywhere on the globe. Besides nomads, traders carrying goods from long distances could have used these baskets to store their products. The existence of any boat (if not palean boat) near the river would open up alternative theories regarding the nativity of the baskets.

If all the aforementioned alternatives are explored, it would result in a more sound and cogent conclusion that is fully backed up by solid reasoning. Although it is hard to come to a concrete conclusion like “these baskets belong to this particular village”, it will lead us to a more conscionable result like, “it is likely that the traders or nomads from so and so place have traveled to this village, carrying their goods in these baskets” or “winds and water tides might have acted as medium for their transport”. While it is satisfactory for people when something is certain, it is also important to not base certainty on falsity.