Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

palean baskets were found in the vicinity of the palean village but that is inconclusive to suggest that it was made only by palean people. The author doesn't take into account the assumption that it could have been brought there by some kind of barter system: for exchange of ornaments, fruits and vegetables etc. One can also speculate about learning the art of making woven baskets from their colonizers. if any of these assumptions is true then we cannot claim that art of making woven baskets were truly palean.

we do not have enough information at our hands which suggest that modern techniques for boat detection were used for employed. The Brim river is very deep and broad today might be narrow in ancient times which refutes author's claim of crossing the river only by boat.

Paleans might have used boats made of wood or leaf and hence we are unable to find the boat. it is also possible that no river existed in ancient times and people traveled peripateticaly hence no trace of boat was found. if all of these assumptions are true then we can say that art of making woven baskets was truly palean.