The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There is nothing conclusive in the letter to suggest that a surge in skateboarders has led to abatement of shoppers in the central plaza.

Poor quality of goods sold by the shop owners could be one of the reason for the downfall of the central plaza. They could be putting the blame squarely on the skateboarders in order to conceal their inadeptness. Opening of a new plaza nearby could be a reason for displacement of some of their customers since it offered an inaugural discount of 20 percent.

it is a possibility that many of these skateboarders would be patrons at the central plaza store so antagonizing them for abatement of customers would be illogical.

it is inconclusive to suggest that skateboarders are responsible for litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Security agency could be responsible for vandalism as it was disreputable within the society.

Inability to provide basic facilities like air conditioner and fluctuation of light could be a plausible reason for reducing customers. Increase in traffic over the past couple of years could be one of the factors which could act as hindrance to customers and thus prevent them for visiting the complex.