Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The argument fails to provide a conclusive evidence that the baskets found in Lithos were not uniquely Paleans. The argument states that the woven baskets made by Paleans are characterised by a distinctive pattern. It could be a case that nearby villages were also involved in the crafting of these baskets, but remained unnoticed.

The recently found basket from Lithos could have been transported or could have been bought by someone in Lithos(after all it had a unique creative design, which makes it one of a kind). There is no strong evidence to support the fact that the basket was crafted in Lithos.

The writer suggests subtly that as the Brim river was deep and broad, the Paleans could only cross it with the help of a boat, but there is no such evidence for the above-mentioned claim. Early civilizations, like Paleans, were well versed will various skills like hunting, running, swimming, etc. It is possible that they could have swim and crossed the entire stretch of Brim river. Owing to the presence of skilled craftsmen and builders in every civilization, there is a high possibility that there could have been a bridge for daily commuters like women and children but could have been destroyed due to some natural disatsters.

The inability of archaeologists to find the presence of boats doesn’t necessarily mean that the Paleans didn’t used them to cross rivers. They could have been destroyed in a storm, or the river stream could have engulfed the boat with it.