Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

I think scandals are a modern form of people saying to the government that one can do anything unethical lest they are caught red handed. Except from the laconic effects of government towards the society, the relentless bogus coverage of the mass media has also made the veracious truths of the society to hide deep inside a dark bubble, later to be exposed in the form of a detrimental scandal. But on the other hand, these scandals have helped people realize the non-gregarious nature of the government towards its citizens.

Owing to the reach and scalability of the media coverage, some of the important news gets easily swayed away from the people. People with myopic agendas tend to use these opportunities sedulously and ultimately get exposed in some scandals. The very recent 2G scam of India continued to evolve in a very small scale and due to lack of unprecedented evens like the above, was kept in dark, which later, eventually, came out as a scandal, forcing the government to act in a stringent manner.

Much of the popular speakers and reformers do not take pain in addressing the media about the smaller issues which, according to them, is a diversion in the path of information. One of the major reasons for these diabolical acts is the lack of spiciness in the news, which would ultimately fail to attract any audience. Furthermore, we, as an audience, never try to galvanize the efforts of small-scale reporters who try to bring these reports to the audience. For example, most of the news speakers tend to organize a debate among famous political figures for a discussion, that can easily be addressed by common people within an hour, which eventually ends up over a feud, resulting in complete loss of time.

The lack of the awareness of people and the casual approach of the speakers and reformers have led to a society filled with scandals, scandals which could have been shunned.