Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Every country consists of people from various cultures and traditions which constitute for the bio-diversity of the people. A country rich in bio-diversity of traditions is very rare and hence should be preserved. It is these various traditions and cultures that make a country different from other.

Cities act as one of the primary hotspots for cultural events and festivals. Ranging from Makar Sankranti to Durga Puja and to Christmas, India observes a broad spectrum of cultural fests, which is very uncanny. Other countries like Bali, London and Indonesia also see various festivals and events that tend to attract an unprecedented amount of crowd every year.

Organizing a cultural event requires a humungous amount of financial support as well as effort. These events help feel citizens a sense of unity among themselves. Government has a role to play in providing the local authorities organizing the event, with surplus funds. People, on the other hand, also contribute according to their reach, for the various cultural events that are organized in the locality.

With the help of these fests, the regional autonomy of the particular city is also enhanced. As more and more people come to witness the events, the local shopkeepers and businessmen are also benefited from this. People, after enjoying in these events, get very hungry and need a place to rest. The restraunts thus witness a huge inflow of customers, increasing their profit marginally. The nearby hotels also are benefited from the people who stay in their hotels room to be a part of the cultural event.

Cultural events attract much people from various parts of the country. Providing financial aid would thus prove to be beneficial for the government. The GDP would automatically get increased by a good margin and would help strengthen the roots of the economy.