Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

There have been numerous occasions where people with very low chances have made it to the epitome of their careers. As the saying goes, “Where there is a will, there is a way”, a person with strong determination and motivation, with hard work, always succeeds in his/her field.

The statement revolves around the fact that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. The thought process of each and every individual is very contrasting and dynamic. As he/she grows, there could be a colossal change in the mindset of the individual. A random student, who is weak in his/her academics, for now, may be an exceptional researcher in the coming years, provided he has proper guidance and interest and vice versa. Referring to the example of Edison, he was an average student in terms of academics, in his childhood. Had he been encouraged to pursue some other filed, the world would have not seen the face of light coming out of a light bulb for a few more years.

Laconically, one can always argue that if a student is imposed with certain restrictions in the path of his/her career, he/she may loose focus as well as interest in his, imposed, field of study. This further reduces the amount of confidence and makes people a liability.

The statement only focuses at the current ability of the student, which neglects the fact that the all-round development of the student is yet to reach the paragon. This naïve assumption of capability makes a student no less that a liability, resulting is loss of interest for a particular field of study.