Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The argument proposed in the passage rests on several assumptions made by the author. Although the author mentions an observational study.Moreover, the passage is inundated with vague terminologies that are open to interpretation and subject to fallacy.The validity of the argument cannot be justified unless we are provided with cogent cases bolstered by evidence.

First of all, the passage has open up with a notion of baskets which was made by Palean people have been found. Since we are not provided with numerical data. For example, How many people have found this distinctive pattern of baskets? How can one compare the Palean basket with the usual one. Thus, the terms are largely subjective, which none but the author can only clearly specify. Without a lucid explanation of these terms, we are left in an ambivalent state and the argument itself is open for debate.

Secondly, the passage is presented with another notion that archaeologists have discovered a palean basket in Lithos.There might be possibility that the archaeologists didn’t have much knowledge. Without citing their experiences or degree we cannot assume them to be veracious. Thus, without citing any information regarding the education and knowledge, the argument is subject to fallacy.

Moreover the author states about describing the whereabouts of palean people. The author is assuming that would have travelled only by boat because of the condition of Brim river.There might be possibility that they would travel to another location with many more mode of transportation and Palean baskets can be available to some unknown location which has not yet discovered.

Thus, the author has stated ambiguous argument without describing eminent details to arrive at a conclusion.