Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Earlier it was believed that, woven baskets with some kind of designs were native to the prehistoric village of Palea. However, one such basket was found near an ancient village of Lithos. Author argues that such woven baskets are not unique to only the village Palea, based on some evidence. Initially, the argument seems plausible, but evidence lacks coherence. So, more research is needed to prove that the author’s argument is correct.

Argument lacks geographic details about Palea and Lithos. It does not provide any record about other means of transportation between Palea and Lithos like the possibility that both villages connected by a part of land, So it would be possible to travel without the rive or boats. If there is some evidence which proves that, there are alternate ways connecting between Palea and Lithos, the argument fails miserably.

Moreover, only one basket is found in Lithos. A single basket is not enough to prove that the people in Lithos used to wave or such baskets. The basket could have been displaced there at some time later in the history and we are just finding it there. This is discovery needs to be investigated further before making any conclusions.

There could have been a possibility of trade and commerce between Palea and Lithos and this possibility is not mentioned by the author. If, there was a possible trade between both villages, people from Palea could have sold them to people in Lithos or Palean people could have taught people of Lithos, how to wave those baskets. If there is some evidence that proves a possible commercial relationship between Lithos and Palea, author’s argument does not stand anymore.

It is also possible that, in the course of long time, Palean people migrated to Lithos, which means that people of Lithos are a new generation of Palea. Thus proving that woven baskets are unique to village of Palea. If, there is such evidence, author’s argument fails to draw a correct conclusion.

To conclude, author’s evidence has some discrepancies, it does not shed light on some areas. Without further investigation into history and the given evidences it's difficult to draw conclusion about uniqueness of woven basket.