Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Author claims that, since major cities are breeding grounds of nation’s culture, cities must be bolstered in terms of finance to flourish further. Both the claim and the reason cannot be agreed, as it is important to provide financial support for all parts of country for overall progress of the country and even minor cities and rural areas also contribute in nation’s culture.

There is no doubt that major cities play an important role in a nation’s economical and cultural development. Major cities attract more and more people and business, so, in a way they are economical and industrial hubs of a nation. It is easy to understand that cities are already thriving and they do not need any more financial support because they are able generate some funding for themselves. Since it is cities where more business is concentrated, lot of revenue is generated from tax, exports and many other ways. Also all industries need human resource, so more and more people migrate to cities in search of various job opportunities and they settle there. For example, Bangalore is one of the major industrial hubs in the country of India and it attracts more people day by day and generating its own revenues.

Coming to the topic of cultural tradition, a country will be having various traditions which differ from place to place. Cities experience a mix of traditions from various parts of the country. Although, we cannot ignore the fact that some unspoiled traditions still exists in cities, a major part of tradition is generated and preserved in rural areas of country because rural areas are place of indigenous people. So, in order to preserve nation’s culture, in fact, rural areas must be given financial support instead of cities. Rural areas already lack generous funding from government and they are not well developed. For the over all development of country it is necessary to fund both cities and villages. Government should prioritize the funding. It is important provide financial support to where development is lacking, instead of concentrating on developed parts.

Conversely, cities reflect how advanced a country is. They are the face of the nation. Nation’s development is often measured on how well its cities are flourishing. Indeed cities should be strengthened because, they are crucial to nation’s socio-economic development and not because they preserve country’s tradition. It would be highly unfair to consider that rural areas have no economical and cultural importance comparison to cities so only cities should be funded well. So the author’s claim cannot be agreed.