The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that, in northeastern homes, oil has been the traditional source of heating in winters and the region had below normal temperature for around 90 days in last winter. So, the author suggests that investing in Consolidated Industries would be profitable as its major function is retail sale of heating oil. Author backs up his argument by giving evidence of climate forecast that the extreme cold weather will likely to continue for next few years and demand for the heating oil will increase. This argument seems reasonable at first glance. However, the author fails to provide solid evidence to endorse some of his assumptions. Moreover the author has some unstated assumptions, which may be proved wrong later. Thorough research must be done before investing in Consolidated industries.

Firstly, author assumes that the traditional heating source in winter is oil and all homes in northeastern United States use the oil, however, fails to give statistical data. The argument is based on the this flimsy assumption and author overlooks the possibility of other sources of heating such as electricity, wood and gas. Author should provide some numerical data about usage of oil as heating source in northeastern united states. However, if it is proved that, oil is not the source of home heating in many homes, the author’s argument falls apart. Author’s assumption is based on climate forecast which is bit vague in this case, however, weather forecasts may not turn out to be true always, moreover no substantial data is provided from previous years about increasing cold during winters and forecast for next few years may not be dependable based on the frequent changes in climate. If, the weather forecast turns out to be correct for next few years and the homes continue to use oil as source of home heating, author’s argument predicts correctly and investing in Consolidated industries will surely be profitable.

Secondly, author assumes that because of increase in population new homes are being built and those homes are oil home heating compatible. However, this assumption may be proved wrong, since author mentioned oil as traditional way of home heating, it may not be suitable for new houses or it may have some disadvantage over other sources such as gas, wood and electricity. If, other sources of home heating are proved to be more advantageous this undermines the author’s argument. Moreover, if the extreme weather conditions persist, people may want to migrate to warmer places and the demand for new homes as well as oil may go down instead of going up, which weakens the argument.

Lastly, author wrongly assumes that, winters will be extremely cold in all other parts of United States as well ,which is not defensible. Although, demand for heating oil may go up in northeastern part but the demand increase cannot be applied to all other parts of United States. So, investing in Consolidated Industries may not be a good idea. Moreover, author does not provide any evidence about increasing demand for oil from recent years, if such data is provided, author’s argument becomes strong.

To conclude, the argument falls apart because of lack of substantial data to back up the assumptions made by author. If the author had given some real evidence the argument would have been more tenable.Thus, stakeholders should do an intensive research before investing some money in Consolidated Industries.