Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Argument summarizes that, students at Omega university are not much successful in securing jobs when compared to other university because of their inflated grades. A decade old process enables the students to grade the teaching effectiveness of professors, because of which, professors are giving liberal grades to students. Employers are skeptical about students’ grades and they are not willing to give jobs to students of Omega university. To enable graduates to secure more jobs, it is suggested that, the university should eradicate the student evaluation of teaching effectiveness. Although, the argument may seem plausible at the first glance, it has some loopholes, so without looking further into the facts and some numerical data, it is very difficult to predict that, ending student evaluation process would enable students to get more jobs.

Firstly, it is mentioned that, 15 years ago, the process of students evaluation has begun and students are not able to secure jobs since then. To evaluate this theory, we need the data about the students who were able to get the job before the student grading process has started. If it is revealed from the data that, students of Omega university are not employers’ favorite, author’s argument does not hold water. However, it could be possible that, over the period of 15 years, students’ academic performance has increased dramatically and the grades which students are getting are genuine. Author does not provide any data about academic ability of students. We need some statistical data about students’ academic performance over 15 years to conclude that the grades which students are getting are genuine.

Secondly, author does not mention about any job oriented programs and courses that are offered at Omega university. Academic knowledge and industrial knowledge are different things. We cannot overlook the fact that, students might be good academically but they lack the skills and practical experience which are crucial for the job. This could be a major reason why students of Omega University are are not successful in getting jobs. One more reason that students of Omega university students are not getting jobs could be because of outdated curriculum and poor quality of teaching in the class. Author should shed some light on the the curriculum and quality of education provided at Omega university.

Thirdly, author compares Omega university to Alpha university. To compare both universities first of all, there should be some common factors among two universities and data about comparable factors is not provided in the argument. Success of Alpha university students in terms of getting more jobs could be credited to the practical knowledge and the job oriented skills that students possess, state of art curriculum and good quality of teaching. Moreover, author fails to mention about the presence or absence of student evaluation process at Alpha university and difference it is making. Given the condition of the current economy, it is also possible that there are very less number of jobs available for new graduates in companies. Author jumps very quickly to make conclusions without analyzing all possible perspectives.

To conclude, because of aforementioned reasons, author’s argument is not cogent enough to convince the audience. Author should give sufficient evidence to bridge the gaps that the argument contains. So, Omega university cannot just follow the suggestion given by author to increase the number of graduates getting jobs.