In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Author’s conclusion that some big chunk of money should be set aside for riverside recreational facilities seems plausible initially as he gives the evidence of surveys and states some ongoing problem with river. However, there are some of unstated assumptions in the argument and some discrepancy in the evidence. Therefore its not a wise choice to take any decision regarding devoting budget without scrutinizing further.

Major problem of surveys is that, without knowing much details about the surveys, its very difficult to rely on the results of the survey. Some details include how many people participated the survey? purpose of the survey and type of questions. If there are 1000 residents in Mason city, and survey was conducted in a holiday season and only 400 residents participated, then survey results are kind of incomplete as it records the opinion of only less than half of the people. More than half of the resident’s opinion are not taken into consideration which makes the survey incomplete. Even though water sports take the top spot in survey, its not mentioned in the survey that all residents use Mason river for the water sports. People often use swimming pools for swimming and fishing can be done in lakes also, so the question types also has an important role. If the more details are provided about the survey, credibility of the survey can be proved.

Author mentions that, there are already existing facilities which are not being used because of lack of maintenance. If residents love waters ports so much, they should have been using these facilities and if facilities are being used well , they should be in good condition. Also there is no evidence that city park department is investing very small amount of money because people are not using it. Also the argument lacks direct proof about why these facilities are not being used. Getting to know about why residents are not using these facilities helps to decide on budget, which if author provides makes his/her argument more reasonable.

However, author implies that the smelly river and reduced water quality is the reason behind recreation facilities not being used. But its nowhere mentioned by the residents in survey or complaint that because of smelly river they are not using recreation facilities. On the other hand we don’t know the cause for the filthy river , is it because of natural causes or from human intervention. Also we are not sure if the state is definitely going to spend some amount of money. Even if river cleaning is made there is no guarantee that river water will be clean and fresh and can be used for many activities. If there is a strong evidence that suggests smelly river is the root cause why residents are not using river for recreation purpose and river cleaning process ensures that river will be clean and fresh after the process is completed.

In conclusion the argument has some loopholes. There are some unstated and stated assumptions which author makes without solid proof. If those assumptions are proved to be wrong , the argument of the author that, more money should be appropriated to riverside facilities does not make any sense. Thus the city government should perform an exhaustive research before investing more money on recreational facilities.