Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

All eligible students having ability to learn should be provided with free university education. Education is a crucial element in building an individual’s future. Education helps not only in academic development of a person, but also in overall development. Universities help students to become successful professionals by giving the foundation of higher education which is requisite to get jobs. So, the author’s statement can be agreed completely.

Not all students come from same economic background. Some students will be good academically but they will not be able to afford university education because of destitution and increased cost of education, and they end up taking drudging jobs. If such students are not able to study further their sheer talent is wasted in doing some menial work. If such students are provided with financial help, they prove to be assets to society and they emerge as doctors, engineers, lawyers, artists etc, who contribute to the development of society. Also, if eligible students are given free education, they will definitely make their contributions back to the society by doing some good work. It help in socio-economic development of the country as well.

Moreover, giving free education to students coming from poverty helps them to become independent and helps them to become financially secure, there by reducing the unemployment problem of the country. Also, the help which the students have taken may inspire them to help more such students once they become capable of earning money and there by helping more people to get educated. Moreover, instead of spending money on petty things or various allowances of politicians, government can spend that part of money on students’ free education.

In contrast, if stringent rules are not in place for scrutinizing the students willing to take up free education, the facility can be exploited. Moreover, universities need money to continue functioning. Lot of expenses occur to maintain state of art educational facilities like well qualified faculties, high tech labs, library, classrooms etc. If many of the students are taking free education, the quality of education may deteriorate because of lack of money to run the university. Government should make strict laws pertaining to providing free education so that only eligible and deserving students get free education.

In conclusion, free university education should be given to all meritorious students coming from poor economical background. It helps the student, his family and the society. It leads to a well educated smart society. However, there should be stringent laws for scrutiny of students claiming to be poor and willing to take help from government, otherwise, the government funds will be misused for a great extent.