The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The statement above links increased number of moped rentals to road accidents, it suggests that reducing the number of moped rentals results in reduction of accidents by 50 percent. This statement is backed up by mentioning that, similar strategy was used in the town of Seaville and it experienced reduced number of accidents. Initially the suggestion seems plausible, however there is not enough substantial evidence and the letter misses out some crucial information. Without further looking into the evidence and unstated assumptions it cannot be inferred that, reducing the number of moped rentals lead to curtailing of accidents.

The letter just mentions that, accident involves only pedestrian and moped but numerical data about accidents and reason for accidents is missing. Sometimes, defiant, apathetic riders and indifferent pedestrians are also responsible for many accidents. If, riders remain unaware of road etiquette, there is no use in limiting the number of moped rentals. There should be detailed report on accidents, containing information about reason for accident, place of accident and other influencing factors. Just because moped are popular means of transport, it does not mean that there are no other type of vehicles in Balmer Island. The letter does not mention about accidents that are caused by huge vehicles like trucks or tankers involving mopeds and pedestrians. So it is important to shed some light on accidents caused by other types of vehicles involving pedestrians and mopeds. If, the collected data implies that, more number of pedestrian injured and moped are damaged by huge vehicles, the prediction by letter will turn out to be completely wrong.

The unstated assumption that reducing the number of moped rentals immediately lowers the accidents by half may not be true at all. Let’s say a moped renting company has 20 mopeds to rent and all 20 of them are having some kind of problem, which may lead to accident on road. If, the company reduces the number of moped rentals to 10, still all of them are problematic and each of them has the chance of failure on road. There must be some solid proof to back up the unstated assumption about 50 percent reduction in accidents.

Traffic rules and road conditions play very important role in safer travel experience. Bad roads with too much of pot holes, lack of zebra crossing, and blind curves also result in road mishaps. It is essential to examine about road conditions and traffic rules in the Balmer Island. Even if, the moped rental numbers are limited, accidents may still happen because of bad roads. So before imposing restrictions on moped rentals in Balmer island, it is very important to analyze the similarity between the town of Seaville and Balmer island. If both towns are very different in terms of road conditions, traffic rules and other factors that influence accidents, the prediction as stated by the letter will be wrong.

Due to aforementioned reasons, it is not agreeable that decreasing the number of vehicle rentals will also subside the number of road accidents involving mopeds. So before setting a limit on moped rentals, town council should do a rigorous research.