Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions are building blocks of society. They have a great responsibility of shaping the young minds who will become alert citizens later. If students are not guided properly, along with students the society will also suffer eventually. So school system definitely has responsibility to discourage students from taking courses in which they are not likely to succeed.

Students spend a considerable amount of time in school, student’s academic ability can be better ascertained by teachers/ academic advisors. If teachers guide students in proper path, in which students are likely to succeed, later students will become good citizens. If students are not shown correct path, they will miserably fail in academics and are demotivated. There is a likelihood of student dropping out from school and engaging in some bad activities. Also students may get demotivated from pursuing education.

To elaborate more on this, lets say, student A wants to take a course on astrophysics. But, from he his previous academic records, his professors know that he is not good at math and astrophysics involves a lot of math. So, if student A is allowed to take astrophysics, he is not likely to succeed and this will definitely discourages the student and in extreme cases, he may drop out from school. Also academic courses are not offered freely, some course fees needs to be paid. In case of student’s failure, the money paid to the course is wasted and not all students are economically robust to pay fees for multiple courses(If a students fails in some course he should take it once again to pass).

Also all educational institutions have some amount of reputation. If a college has good review more students are likely to get admitted to that college. If a college is indifferent about students’ academic abilities, the students are not guided properly and failure rates will increase and college’s reputation is spoiled , as a result students are less likely to get admitted to that college in future. This will have both social and economical impact on college.

Conversely, if college prevents students from pursuing certain courses, its clearly violation of freedom. Lets say, a customer goes to a restaurant and orders an item to eat, the waiter cannot stop him from ordering that item, because it’s definitely violation of freedom. Also customer is paying money to for that item, which clearly means he has all the rights to order that item. In the same way, students are paying money to take certain courses, its their right to select a particular course.

Sometimes even educational systems may fail to assess certain student’s ability to take certain course; which will eventually yields some bad consequences. Also while taking some courses, certain students will face challenges initially, but later they will pick up the subject and they are likely to succeed. Computer programming is a good example for this. Not all students can ace programming in 1 or 2 weeks, some students even take months to learn programming. If a student did not write a program correctly on first day it does not mean that he is not likely to succeed in programming course.

Educational institutions have responsibility to build budding citizens of country. It is very beneficial for both student society, if school/ colleges encourage students to take courses in which they are likely to succeed. Even though, education systems are concerned about money, at least for sometime they must ignore their economical preferences and guide the students in a proper way.