The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Central plaza store owner’s statement that is negatively linking the number of skateboard users in the plaza to the business, seems reasonable initially. But the recommendation fails to provide any substantial evidence that connects decrease in Central Plaza business to increased number of skateboard users in the Plaza. So, some substantive proof is needed to conclude that the recommendation has predicted correctly.

Plaza owner mentions that from past two years, number of customers is decreasing. There might be other reasons for a reduced number of customers. Major question that should be answered here is apart from skateboard users are there any other notable things in plaza that is causing the customers to deviate from the plaza. For example, if the plaza is old and it frequently undergoes repair work due to which there is lot of noise and dust, because of such reasons customers may not feel like visiting the plaza . Also very less information is given about the skateboard users. One needs further details to come to a conclusion. Details like, on an average how many skateboard users are present at the plaza? What are business hours and skateboard users use plaza for skating in business hours or after closing hours? It is also important know whether the Plaza owner has taken any action on skateboard users earlier.

Moreover, there is no mention of any customer complaining about skateboard users, garbage or vandalized plaza to plaza owners. If, customers are really bothered by skateboard user and other problem they should have complained. So it is crucial to know if there any complaints from customers coming to Central plaza. Conversely, if there are lot of complaints against skateboard users from plaza customers , it bolsters the owner’s recommendation. The recommendation utterly fails to give proof that skateboard users are vandalizing the property. Vandalism and increased garbage may be due to lack of garbage cans and security measures. Plaza owner should give more information such as- are garbage cans available in plaza? If yes, how many and are they easily accessible to customers? Plaza owner mentions about vandalism, but he fails to inform about any preventive measures that are taken and why they are not successful. However, if it is proved that skateboards users are vandalizing the property and making the plaza filthy, the recommendation correctly predicts that prohibiting skating will cause the business to flourish.

Further, there is no solid proof that the Plaza was making huge profits earlier. It is also possible that customers are dissatisfied by the services of the shops in the plaza. It is important to know about customer satisfaction about the services provided by the plaza shops.

Due to aforementioned reasons, Central Plaza Owner’s recommendation may not be useful. The City council should further investigate about this matter before proscribing skateboard users from Central Plaza.