To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A leader should have many qualities to successfully guide his followers. He should be in a justifiable position to guide his followers. Leader should possess high ethical and moral standards to act as role model for others. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the prompt because of two reasons.

If a person does follow a standard or believe in a principle, he cannot ask others to follow or believe in that principle. So, if a person wants to become a successful leader, he should possess some good qualities that others can follow. Also having such a quality helps to attract more people having similar qualities. For instance, if a leader is not corrupt by nature, he will lead his followers in the path against corruption and he will attract more followers who are against corruption as well. So, it is essential for a leader to have some good qualities which can be used for a good cause. In contrast, if, the leader himself is corrupt, he will not be aware of the good things he can achieve without being corrupt and his followers will also indulge in corruption and thus leading to a decadent society.

A good start will always lead to good results. If a leader starts his carrier with high standards, he will always go beyond the existing standard, and it is least likely that he will go below the current standards. If, the habit of keeping high standards continues throughout the life, it much likely that, the leader will end up with good result because of his unchanging principles. For example, if an entrepreneur’s motto is customer satisfaction regardless of the his new company’s financial conditions, his loyal customer base will increase and the company is likely to flourish. If, entrepreneur had compromised his goal when the company had financial crisis, he would have lost many customers. This example clearly illustrates the importance of having ethical and moral standards.

However, some people may argue that, even money and power can make a leader successful. But, the success, that is earned by money and power and without any inherent qualities of leader, will not last longer and he/she is going to lose the charm of the role model in his adherents’ eyes soon. Thus, it can be concluded that, to be an effective leader it is essential to have highest moral and ethical standards.