Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Author’s statement sheds a positive light on scandals. Further it states that, it turns people’s attention to some ongoing problems. But this is not true, scandals get only a vanishing attention and just focusing on problem does not always lead to solution. Also not all scandals involve problems, some might be just accusations.

Scandals sometimes involve a lot of taxpayer money from government projects. Some projects are meant for public welfare. So if a scandal happens it will be a waste of people’s hard earned money and that money is in wrong hands now, which might be later used for some anti national activities. So in a way scandals both have pros and cons.

Scandals does not benefit stakeholders. Let’s say a supposed project of a new airport construction is halted, because of scandal. There are lot complications involved in this. First, taxpayers’ money is wasted. Secondly, if the construction was complete, there would have been a new airport and many people have benefited from this. Now the project is of no use to anyone.

Moreover, scandals get excessive attention from media, which leads to less attention on more important things happening synchronously. This is of no use, because sometimes, scandals are nothing but false accusations from opponents for various reasons. Scandals are sometimes exaggerated for media benefits. In a way scandals shift attentions from ongoing problems, which may lead to a new problem.

Conversely, scandals make people aware of what is going on around them. Otherwise, people are busy in their own world. But, the attention given to scandals is, transitory. They get attention for few days until something new comes. And it does not always leads to the solution to the problem. As scandals get a lot of attention from people, it is possible that in future such scandals will not happen.