In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Success in any field depends on many factors and cannot be attributed to a single quality of an individual and qualities necessary for success vary from profession to profession, although, hard work and dedication prevail in all fields. So, it is very hard to say, if, imagination is more important than knowledge or experience. In my opinion, the prompt can be agreed to only some extent because of following reasons.

The whole field of science and technology is highly contingent on knowledge and experience, with only imagination and no knowledge, one cannot succeed in these fields. So, one must have adequate knowledge of the necessary things before taking up the technology or science as profession. For instance, to get a job in software industry, a college graduate should at least possess rudimentary knowledge about coding. Once he is able get the job, he should strive hard to get more knowledge of the things pertinent to his field, to become successful professional. The example clearly illustrates that the student’s success can be attributed to his knowledge than his imagination. So, in professions like software engineer, doctor, scientist or mathematician having knowledge about the field is crucial than having imagination.

The professions like banker and businessman rely more on knowledge than imagination, because both the professions involve lot of money so cannot afford to take risks by imaging about the strategies. Prior experience and knowledge about success and failures comes very handy while implementing new business or marketing techniques to make profits. The knowledge about the field acts as a strong building base in fields which are volatile and helps to think in all possible directions. For instance, if a beverage company wants to release a new product to market, the business head should have some knowledge about current market and prospective customers ; so, it will be helpful to fathom the success or failure of the soon to be launched product. In the same way, the marketing team must have knowledge about past successful marketing strategies that company had employed, which will likely to attract more customers. This example illustrates the supremacy of knowledge over imagination in field that are quite unstable.

However, in fields like visual arts, and entertainment which are directly connected to people, one must have sheer amount of imagination to succeed as opposed to knowledge in other fields like technology and business. In these fields, it is very important to get attention of more and more people to become successful. So, imagination plays an important role to find different techniques to attract people. For example, in the development of a new animated cartoon movies, the team responsible for the movie must be good at imagining the things as cartoons involve various characters of imagination, music and background and it is not necessary to have prior experience or knowledge in the field of animation. This example clearly shows the importance of imagination over knowledge. Also, there are some fields like literature where both imagination and knowledge author are very much necessary to become famous.

The prompt presented above is highly contentious. Many instances of success can be attributed to high imagination in some fields, however, it is possible to prove that, knowledge or experience is essential for success in some fields. Moreover, some fields like literature need a combination of knowledge and imagination to be productive. Thus, it is very difficult to conclude which has more value in any field- imagination or knowledge.