The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Statement explains an experiment conducted on 18 rhesus monkeys. Result of experiment uncovered the connection between birth order and levels of stimulation. Also, the some study was conducted on pregnant mother monkeys regarding hormone levels.

Normally scientific experiments involve huge number of samples and they are exhaustive and comprehensive. To arrive to a conclusion it necessary to have a lot of test data. One cannot merely state something using small test data. Given statement mentions that the experiment involved only 18 rhesus monkeys. 18 is very small number to arrive at conclusion. To prove that first born infant monkeys produce more hormones than their younger siblings, test data on a large number of monkeys required. Also the test was conducted on infant monkeys, so test results are not applicable to adult monkeys, as both adult monkeys and infant monkeys are different. Moreover, Experiment involved only rhesus monkeys, statement does not mention about any other animals, so the results are unique to infant rhesus monkeys.

Same type of study conducted on mother monkeys shows that first time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than those monkeys who had had more off springs. Statement does not provide information about details of the experiment like, the test involved how many mother monkeys? What was the environment like simulated or natural? There might be other alternative reasons for high levels of cortisol in mother monkeys. Experiment results cannot be universalized.

It is also possible that, cortisol hormone in rhesus monkeys, has other influencing factors, and this information is not provided by the statement. And monkeys may react differently to different simulating situations. Experiment conditions also play an important role. Statement does not shed any light on the type of experimental environment, whether the experiment is conducted in monkeys’ natural habitat or it is an simulated environment. Test results may vary greatly based on this factor also.

Results from experiments conducted on a smaller specimen group with certain characteristics cannot be generalized to a closely related larger specimen group, as each specimen group has varying characteristics. To infer that birth order can influence stimulating situations more through study involving much larger data is required.