Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Giving new life to fields like, business, politics, education are very much necessary as it is important to be parallel with the rest of the world. However, the claim that, to be successful, every field must undergo a change in leadership every five years is partially true. The reason is only strong enough, for the claim to be agreed conditionally.

Change is inevitable part of life. All fields will undergo a change once in a while, as change is important to keep the field alive and competitive. In contrast, very frequent changes to a particular field may have negative consequences instead of bringing good fortune. So, it is important to keep both change and consistency in mind before making any reformation. We all need change in system, but not as frequent as five years. To bring drastic changes, that surely takes any field to the door of success, is time consuming. Lot of planning and analyses should be done in advance to make sure that there is no chance of failure. Also, the change should be such that, it is accepted by all stakeholders. So, the process of metamorphosis is indubitably time taking. For some plans like building space research center or genesis reformation policies in the field of education, 5 years may not be enough. If a new leadership is brought, it cannot be assured that the plans of previous leadership will be implemented or completed, though, they are good for society. In contrast, sometimes, it is possible to analyze the success or failure of a leader in 5 years. If the leader is proved to be inefficient, he/she should step down for good cause.

New leadership is also essential to the success of the field. However, new leader needs sometime to get accustomed to his position and responsibilities as a reason it is not good idea for an efficient leader to step down after 5 years. Along with the zeal and fervor of new leader some germane experience is also necessary to succeed in any field so changing leaders every 5 years may not be fruitful always.

Conversely, it is important to go parallel with the rest of the world. New people bring new and innovative ideas which helps to keep the field abreast of changes happening around. Old policies or ideas which might impede the progress of the field must be eradicated, so revitalization through new leadership is important, though not a frequent one. Also success holistic and it is not measured only through the frequent change that a field undergoes, so even consistency plays an important role. Frequently changing the headmaster of an elementary school , would definitely bring bad name for school.

Giving a new birth to any field is requisite for success. However the leadership cannot be ephemeral. Any leader who is a new elect to a position needs sometime to implement good changes. If the leader seems to be inefficient even after giving sufficient time, he should definitely step down after five years. Along with giving rebirth to a field, there are number of other factors through which the amount of success is gauged. The claim can be agreed conditionally as the reason is correct to only certain extent.