The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock Inc, in his memo argues that ending the Endure manufacturing process would help to increase the profits. The vice president’s argument is based on a new study which says that the Endure process is not efficacious and also according to a survey data, customers prefer color and appearance. The argument seems reasonable at cursory glance, however, careful examination of evidence reveals that the argument is not defensible because it lacks below mentioned evidences.

Firstly, evidence is needed to prove the durability of socks. The author fails to provide any sort of evidence that corroborate the author’s point that the socks last for two years in all conditions. For example, what if some customers use socks in extreme conditions in which socks are likely to wear out quickly? In this case the argument collapses if the durability is proved to be less than two years. Further, evidence is needed to prove that customers are buying new socks every three months because old socks are worn out. There could be many reasons why an average customer buys new socks every three months. For instance, it could be possible that, socks are worn out quickly because of mishandling or a customer likes socks very much that he/she is buying socks for others. So, these scenarios indicate the failure of author to to analyze the reason behind buying new socks frequently and the argument made on this basis becomes invalid. Moreover, there is no evidence of credibility/comprehensiveness of survey and the studies conducted.

Secondly, we need evidence to show that all customers of Dura-Sock prefer color and appearance over durability. But, the survey considers only people of northeastern united states. It could be possible that, customers in other parts of country prefer long lasting socks over flashy looking socks. Author does not mention about price of different types of socks. What if long lasting socks are costly compared to other types of socks in northeastern united stated? It is clear that customers will buy cheaper one. If, author provides data about price of the socks and opinion of customers from all parts of country, the argument becomes strong.

Thirdly, there is no evidence that, stopping the Endure manufacturing process will result in higher profits. If a company wants to earn more profit, there are many factors that should be taken into account. What if in the future, the company increases price of socks to recoup the losses occurred from Endure process? Or what if the quality of socks deteriorate? It is also possible that people prefer socks from other companies over the time. In all these cases, customers will not buy socks of Dura-Sock company. Although, Endure process is stopped, the profit is not likely to increase. Therefore, author should provide evidence to support his argument that, ending Endure process will lead to increased profit.

To conclude, because of the aforementioned reasons, the argument stands flawed. More evidence like some statistical data is needed to to evaluate the argument presented. Thus, before stopping Endure manufacturing process, Dura-Socks company should gather more data and do complete research before taking decisions based on the vice president’s argument.