While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt presents a disagreement between author and the Department of education of state of Attra in the matter of giving homework to students. The Department of Education promotes that, students should be assigned homework every single day and whereas the author recommends that, homework should be given no more than twice a week. Author’s recommendation is based on a statewide survey which shows that, students with less homework assigned are likely to succeed more academically. The recommendation and the argument on which the recommendation is based seem reasonable at cursory glance. However, the argument stands seriously flawed after careful examination for below reasons.

Firstly, the author should address the question of comprehensiveness of survey. Normally schools will have other subjects like history, economics, computers, languages etc, and the survey overlooks this important fact and considers only math and science teachers, which makes the survey incomplete. Moreover, the survey fails to shed light on type and amount of homework given to students and intelligence levels of students. It is essential to consider all other subject teachers’ opinions before conclusion. What if the other subject teachers give homework more frequently and students get good grades in respective subjects? Also, what if students perform poorly when given less homework in subjects other than math and science. All these possibilities needs to be evaluated by the author to infer that his recommendation is correct. It is reasonable to think that students who are academically good need less home work compared to students who are challenged. If a school has all academically bright students, the frequency of homework does not contribute much to students’ grades and this could be the reason why students of Marlee get good grades with less homework. The author is very quick to jump into the conclusion that less frequency of homework leads to good grades by ignoring other reasons. Also, the grades obtained by the students in the state of Sanlee, where students are assigned homework more frequently is not given. It is probable that such students also get good grades perhaps, better grades than students of Marlee. The survey does not take this possibility into account and the recommendation based on such survey seems illogical.

Secondly, author should bother to answer, how the survey data of only two districts of the state can be applied to all other districts. Author does not mention about any other districts other than Sanlee or Marlee. So, there is no data about frequency of homework given in other school districts and the grades procured by students. There is a possibility that, all other school districts except Marlee, assign homework three to five times a week and because of this students are getting good grades. This possibility seriously undermines the author’s recommendation. If, the author can provide data about other school districts in the state of Attra, which strengthens data provided by the survey, then it can be concluded that the author’s recommendation is correct.

Thirdly, the author fails to establish a direct relationship between amount of homework given and the grades obtained by the students. There are other major factors which contribute good grades like, effective teaching, hard work and dedication by the student, availability of study materials, grading system etc. Just because the students of Marlee district obtained good grades despite of giving less homework, it cannot be concluded that, giving homework less frequently leads to good grades or vice versa. Given the different aptitude levels of students and other relevant factors, grades will vary accordingly. In fact, good grades can be because of lack of stringent examination techniques or cheating by students. If the author had taken account of all other elements, which contribute to the students’ grade, the recommendation would have been more pragmatic.

Because of the aforementioned reasons, the author fails to provide a cogent argument for his recommendation and thus, the recommendation seems true at first glace. Author should provide more convincing reasons to make his recommendation valid. Without more evidence it is difficult to prove the viability of the recommendation and hence the Department of Education should be careful while considering the author’s recommendation.