Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean

The writer contends that, so called Palean baskets were not uniquelly Palean .To support his assertion, he cites various evidences found by the recent discovery of the archaeologists. Although these evidences appear to bolster the argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. So, in order to make the argument more sound, the author should cite the following especific evidences.

1)People may have crossed the Brim river while there were not water on the river.

2)There would be an alternative way to go Lithos from Palea.

3)There might be ineffective search of Palean boats in Lithos.

First of all, even if the Brim RIver is very deep and broad now, it doesn't ensure that in any time in the past, it were in the same situation as now. In the past, there would be no presence or very less presence of water in the Brim River, at the movement when there were no water or relatively very less water, it is very likely to possible that people would have crossed the river from Palea to Lithos. Thus, by seeing only the situation now, the author's conclusion is unwarranted.

Secondly, the author has not mentioned the availability of other roots. Even if there were the same presence of water in past as it is now, there might be other alternative roots to go Lithos from Palea. Who knows? There might be an alternative root from land to go Lithos from Palea.

Thirdly, the author cites no Palean boats have been found. He has not mentioned procedure to find the boats. There might be an lethargic searching, if the searching activities catalyzed, it may be possible to find the boats in Lithos.

In sum, the writer needs to cite the above especific evidences in order to make the argument more sound. Without these especific evidences, I cannot agree with the author's conclusion.