Most culture encourages individuals to sacrifice a large part of their personalities in order to be like other people. Thus, most people are afraid to think or behave differently because they do not want to be excluded.

Cultural norms and values always encourage conformity and it is true that most culture encourage individuals to sacrifice a large part of their personalities in order to maintain harmony in the society. However, I do not agree with the term that most people follow conformity or sacrifice their individuality in the fear of social persecution and social exclusion for the following reasons.

Every society has its own cultural norms, notions, belief and values and so it is true that each member of the society is forced to live under these social constraints in order to maintain social harmony. Any thought or actions against prevailing social trend would have a dire consequence. They are either punished or expelled from the society. For instance, in Islamic culture, unveiling the head of Islamic women in front of the stranger or a male person is a religious sin, and so Islamic women were forced to unveil their head while stepping out of their home. These women are subjected to harsh physical punishment by the family members if found transgressing this social boundary. However, modern Islamic women are now no longer afraid of social persecution and are not confined within the walls of this social conformity. Instead, they started unveiling their head and started pursuing their career in a way they want to. Now, we can find infinite number of models, actresses, singers and dancers females from Islamic community all around the world. Thus, social constraints no longer inhibit ones individuality.

Similarly, Ptolemaic geocentric theory regarding the solar system prevailed from second century to about sixteenth century. The contemporaneous Roman Catholic society has a wide held belief that god has put the earth at the centre of the solar system and nobody dare to go against god because of the fear of excruciating physical punishment by the church officials. However, Copernicus dare to explore the fact of heliocentric theory (sun is the centre of solar system). This theory was against the wide held belief of Roman Catholic and punished severely the follower of heliocentric theory. However, after hundreds of years of suppression, Galileo was able to gather sufficient evidences in favor of heliocentric theory and Copernicus is now regarded as the father of astronomy.

In the context of Nepali culture, menstrual exile was one of the menstrual taboos which prohibits Hindu female to enter inside their home during menstruating period considering them to be impure. They were banned from their house and were forced to live in a cattle shed or menstruating hut far from their house, posing a threat in their life. Similarly, untouchability was also one of the cultural taboos on the basis of low and high caste prevailed in Nepali culture not so far before a couple of years. However, as people became more and more educated, they became more aware about the social and cultural trends and started expressing the problems caused by such cultural trends. They has now banned such cultural trends like menstrual exile and untouchability moving against the prevailing cultural trend considering such trends being highly detrimental to the life of people.

In conclusion, it is no doubt that any culture encourages conformity in order to maintain social harmony in the society. However, humans are free to think, act and behave differently than other. Further, every human now are free to express their unique individuality despite social conformity.