Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people Recently however archaeol

The argument stands on several unstated assumptions in its recommendation that Palean basket designs were not restricted to Palea. The argument takes supports the fact that the Brim river is wide and deep, and no boats were ever found in Palea. Taken as a whole, the unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if relevant evidence is not found the assumptions would not hold and the argument falls apart.

To begin with, the argument assumes that there was no alternative route connecting Palea and Lithos. As the argument only states that Lithos was on the other side of the river and does not tell us about the alternate routes that may exist between Palea and Lithos. It may very well be the case that there exist several alternate routes between Palea and Lithos and people traveling via these roots could have brought Palean-made baskets to Lithos. If this could have been the case the other's conclusion would fall apart. Only with the proper knowledge of the geography of the region, we can conclude that there existed no other connecting routes between Palea and Lithos than crossing the Brim.

Secondly, the author of the argument assumes that the river brim was always deep and broad making it impossible to cross. This assumption is very weak as it disregards that geography is changing and rivers can become shallow and thin or broad and wide with time. If the former is true that is that the river brim was shallow and thin at a time then people from Palea or Lithos could have easily crossed it bringing the baskets to Lithos. If this is the case then the conclusion of the author falls apart. To make such an assumption without a proper investigation of the history of changing geography of the Brim is fallacious and the assumption would not hold.

Thirdly, the author assumes that since no boat was found in Palea none existed. The assumption fails to take into account that most of the ancient period were made out of wood and they might have simply rotten away with time. If that is the case then Palean's or Lithosite's would both have been able to cross the Brim with the help of wooden boats. Naturally, the baskets would have then been brought by travelers to Lithos. If that is the case and boats did exist then the stated assumption is false. To verify if boats had existed or not existed at that time it would be crucial to find boat building tools or texts indicating boats as a means of transport from the sites, if any such tools or manuscripts are found then the assumption would not hold.

In conclusion, it can be said that the argument makes several unstated assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed the argument falls apart.