Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively

The cliché presents students with the contention to whether accept coursework unquestionably or to be inquisitive towards concepts that are being taught. Unambiguously, the latter shall be preferred to the former. To accept knowledge unquestionably is comparable to submitting to servitude. Education is found on the principle of building practical concepts rather than proselytize children with dogmas. Further, contention in thoughts and ideas leads to clarity and innovation rather than imbibing books mindlessly. Of course, opponents of the cliché raise concerns over the extra time that will be required to facilitate such a process. However, students without a proper foundation of concepts often struggle later in their career’s wasting even more time making inquisitive learning worth the hustle.

Firstly, it is without a doubt that inquisitive learning offers better concept building for students when compared to just simply accepting dogmas. When students are allowed to question their teachers, they are able to build concepts that provide them a lifelong understanding of the subject compared to just passive acceptance, which is just ephemeral. Additionally, inquisitive learning allows for easy practical implementation of subject knowledge. In a survey conducted by Miranda, it was found that students who preferred to question their subject knowledge not only had a better image of concepts but also were able to implement those concepts outside the classroom.

Secondly, it is quite unambiguous that inquisitive behavior actively engages students. When students are engaged actively, they are more likely to arrive at contention points regarding subject knowledge that is being taught and this contention in thoughts leads to enhanced clarity. Not only clarity of concepts but also creativity of students is improved with the differing viewpoints they are able to produce giving them a dynamic image of subjects. This inarguably translates to better academics for students and is beneficial in building solid foundations for future careers that they are likely to take in the future. Thomas Alva Edison attributed his later success as an inventor to his homeschooling where his mother taught him everything and he was not ignored for asking questions.

Admittedly, inquisitive learning is time-consuming and requires more effort as compared to passive acceptance of concepts. Yet, on digging deeper, we find that our concerns regarding time narrow down to time management and the misconception that inquisitive learning requires more time. What must be understood is that inquisitive learning requires greater efforts and time initially, but producing the concepts learned later takes less time whereas in passive learning one needs to give efforts each time before trying to implement learned concepts, inevitably requiring more time. In a survey conducted by Ninda, it was found that students that preferred inquisitive learning required considerably low effort to apply their learned concepts, on the other hand, students who unconsciously accepted concepts were later found perplexed and unable to apply learned concepts.

In, conclusion we can say that inquisitive learning is a better method of learning when compared to the traditional acceptance of ideas. It not only enhances clarity and thoroughness of concepts being taught but also facilitates their physical implementation in addition to building the foundation for future careers.