Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café

The argument claims a recommendation of opening a cafe inside monarch book store based on many assumptions. Yet no evidence supports this assumptions.

To begin with, the recommendation provides weak analogy between the customers buying books and the same customers having coffee at cafe. The Customer who buys books from monarch, need not have necessity towards having coffee or spending time at cafe. Regular customers of monarch might not like to spend time in newly opened  cafe and would enjoy their regular hangouts some where else.

Even assuming the recent national census decline for population under age ten, discontinuing children Book section does not hold support. The census fails to survey the location or city at which monarch is located. It might be possible the number of children at this city would have keen in learning books and this might have excluded by census survey.

There is yet another assumption that demographic coming to reagal books are similar to demographic visiting monarch book stores. Two business never be same until they share same demographic and equal tactics. Customers of regal Book store may enjoy just coffee and intrested in buying books. Whereas, the customers who are already fascinated by varieties book collection  at monarch,may not be interested in coffee. Variance in demographic does not make both stores resemblance in business.

In conclusion the recommendation is inconclusive. To strengthen the recommendation, directors must show the demographic ages. It should have also provided much more evidence that census includes the city where monarch dwells. Finally to better evaluate the recommendation, I would need to know where regal book stores have same collection of books that monarch share and the actual business earned by regal is either by customers who buys books and have coffee.