An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action. Reason : When assessing the morality of action, the result of an action are more important than the intent of t

The author of the issue states that when we judge an action, the most important aspect that should be considered is the result of the action. To support this argument, he points out that the results of an action are more important than the intent of those who perform the action. Due to the controversial nature of the topic, there is not a general argument for this issue. I however, to a great extend, agree with this statement. In the ensuing paragraphs, several convincing reasons will be delineated.

For one thing, a lot of actions that do good to the human and society are performed by people who do not have the intents that we would admire. For example, The Great Wall was built by Empire Qin, who was obsessed with totalarism, and wanted to centralized and fort his power over the country, which may not be a good intent that the whole society would appreciate. However, the result of this action, The Great Wall, has successfully protect the people in central and southern part of China from invasion and secure the prosper of the economy. What's more, The Great Wall not only is regarded as one of the greatest constructions in the world, but also represents the unity and pride of Chinese people, which cannot be denied or deprecated only by the initial intent.

For another, what matters in the development of a society is the objective results from a bunch of individuals or group actions instead of the subjective intends of them. Edison invented a lot of creative things in his life. Even though his intent was not developing the society or building a better life for human, but just making profit for his company, what we remember is his contribution to the world, including the invention of light bulb.

However, what I have alluded to above does not draw the whole picture and is not suitable for all contexts. In some cases, the intent of an action may be more important to us. For example, we appreciate a lot of good deal even though their physical good may be small, because the spirit behind them is priceless. Let's boldly image that a policeman died when he want to save someone from a crime. We may think that it dose not deserve. But the whole society may be inspired by his spirit, which could not be measured simply.