An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would not be advantageous and explain how examples shape your position.

The issue of whether or not pateints should see their doctors' records of other patients who share the same illness is a contentious one. While each side has its strenghts and weaknesses, I believe that patients should'nt have access to such information since that would break the trust code between the doctor and his patient. Also, this information may not help since every patient needs different treatments based on his or her specific condition.

To begin, the information that a doctor has of his or her patients is considered privacy; therefore, showing this data to other people without the permision of the owner would create a an abyss in the relashionship between the doctor and the patient; it may even lead the doctor to lose his career.

Adding to that, patients differ in thier biological structure and reaction to treatment. Thus, each patient needs a particualr treatment that would work best for him or her. Imagine you are having a headache, most people would recommend an asprine for you to take, but what if you didn't have a simple headache, what then? Doctors advice people to check with their doctors first before taking any midicine.

Some people may argue that having access to other similar patients could be helpful in reducing the fear a patient has. When people feel that they are not alone in all this, they will reject the fear inside them, and start to develop a sence that they belong to a bigger group. Also, seeing good results in other patients' records will help increase the hope. However, seeing such results will build flase hopes since what worked for someone may not work others. Also, seeing bad reasults will engender dispear and sadness

In summary, I think people should respect the privacy of others, and work with their doctors to find the cure that would work for them. In addition, invading other patients' records will only cause more confusion.