An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extend to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

When searching for medical care, every patient is on the hunt for the best and the brightest doctors that will give them the help that they need, and potentially save their life. All doctors have varying experiences, trainings, and educations that may better suit them for different procedures. Just as some hospitals are known for their treatment of heart disease or cancer, certain doctors are specialized with extra training in a specified area of medicine. Patients should always have record of their doctors of previous patients where their treatment either went right or wrong.

Before treatment even begins, patients must make an informed decision on whether or not to have the treatment to begin with. Doctors typically lay out the risks, the benefits, and any possible scenarios that could play out after the treatment, or occur because of the treatment. Just as patients must be informed of these risks and benefits, the patient must know the level of experience their doctor has with their particular case. This information is equally as essential to making an informed decision about their health care as the potential risks and benefits are.

With any medical condition comes worry from the patient and the patient's family. With knowledge about cases similar to their own and how they have been treated in the past, patients can feel confident in their doctor's ability resulting in decreased stress levels and more compliance with the doctor's orders, which could result in a more successful outcome. Sharing this information with the patient allows for them to feel in control of their own health and how it is managed. Everyone is in control of their own body, and everyone should be in control of their own health care and who they trust with their treatment.

The dispute over health care is a major dilemma in the United States, but people have a right to the best healthcare possible. If a doctor does not have the training or perfect treatment record that another doctor possesses, then the patient should have the right to go to the doctor with preferred skills. Patients deserve to know who they are trusting with their life and to have confidence in their choice of doctor. In all areas of life there are people who work hard and succeed and those who don't. Until a doctor proves their capabilities, no one should unknowingly follow through with bad treatment.

Releasing knowledge of the doctor's track record would also reduce the amount of lawsuits and other legal battles because the patient and their family have all the information available to make an informed decision. They would place less blame on malpractice and admit the severity of the condition, realizing that sometimes you can only do so much.

All patients deserve to have adequate health care and knowledge to make informed decisions about it. This is a basic right that anyone undergoing any treatment deserves to have. Just as there are good and bad artists, hairdressers, and lawyers, there are good and bad doctors that no one should be subjected to without the proper information.