All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country

Many critics of study abroad programs insist that such programs are often not sufficiently rigorous, and are not worth the additional cost to a student. While study abroad programs might not be worthwhile for all students, most students would benefit from the opportunity to study in another country to meet new people, expand their perspectives, and develop academically.

The first and foremost reason that many students choose to study abroad is the opportunity to meet and interact with people from another part of the globe. In today’s globalized economy, it is incredibly important to be able to communicate effectively with people worldwide. Immersing oneself in a new culture is an ideal way to learn to relate to people who come from different backgrounds. The relationships developed throughout a semester abroad can also offer opportunities for lasting engagement and future connections. It also offers a chance to make rapid progress in a new language, which is a marketable skill in nearly any industry.

Furthermore, study abroad programs offer exposure to new ideas and offer new perspectives on common ideas. Different people around the world inherently possess different values and political ideologies. Spending time in another country offers an opportunity to encounter these cultural differences firsthand. Everyday interactions enable participants reevaluate their worldviews, and offer an opportunity for reflection to understand the context of their actions on a global scale. This newfound wisdom and worldliness can be immensely helpful throughout a student’s career.

Finally, study abroad programs offer opportunities to branch out academically. Students in the liberal arts benefit most directly from opportunities abroad, as they can study art, literature, or music endemic to that region. A common criticism of study abroad programs is that they are often not academically challenging for students who are pursuing STEM degrees. However, if a host university is chosen carefully, students can continue to develop their technical skills in world class settings, and some study abroad programs even offer opportunities to be involved with research and contribute in a new laboratory environment.

Study abroad programs are not without their drawbacks. They can be expensive, and participants are forced to sacrifice involvement at their home university for a semester. Despite these consequences, the benefits of such programs are immense. It is almost always worthwhile for students who have the resources and freedom in their curriculum to experience student life in another part of the world.