All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Often times companies ignore the requests and complaints of their employees, causing little problems to go on. Listening to them may help solve some problems but such solutions are limited compared to the help an outside consultant can offer. Outside consultants are able to bring many benefits that may have been missed by both the company and its employees. I disagree with the claim that outside consultants are not necessary since they are able to view the problems differently and bring in new knowledge.

First of all, an outside consultant is able to view the company differently compared to how insiders might. As an outsider, the consultant is able to remove any emotions that employees may have towards the company. The consultant is able to look in places employees may not consider. For example,if a consultant is hired for a tech company, he or she may look at the software and see if there are any glitches that may be affecting the efficiency. Employees at the company may not necessarily look closely into the software to see the problems, and instead are concerned about what is affecting them personally. The consultant looks into problems that are not affecting each individual employee, rather he or she is looking into bigger problems that an employee may often miss.

Additionally, an outside consultant can bring in new knowledge that will benefit the company. Consultants are hired by multiple different companies, so they are knowledgeable about the efficiency of various companies. This would be great for a company since the consultant can help gear the company towards similar company that is much more efficient and thriving. For example, if the consultant is hired by a tech company, he or she can compare the company to others from his past experience. The consultants know which methods worked and which did not. This is very helpful since it is often difficult for companies to get insider information about other companies. An employee's knowledge of how a company should be run is limited compared to an experienced consultant who's job is to find problems and solve them.

On the contrary, it is true that listening to employees may help the company, but this is only to an extent. The employees may complain about work hours, their co-workers, and maybe even the management style. However, such complaints are not going to help the companies' overall efficiency. Employees usually complain about the small problems. Often times, a company needs to look at the holistic process and figure out what is wrong. Each individual employee is not viewing the company as a whole, so only listening to them will not solve the major problems that the company is facing.

All in all, I disagree that an outside consultant is unnecessary if the company just listens to the employees. Consultants are knowledgeable people, specialized in helping companies improve and find problems. Their view of the company is different from how the employees view it.