All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

According to the given issue that if the company spend more time listening thier employees rather than outsourcing a consultant, it would make such consultants unnecessary, I agree to the author with some extent. The various reasons that support my argument are given in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, employees who work for a company are loyal in comparison to the consultant which are outsourced and is not interconnected with the company. Therefore, these employees can know better working and flaw which can be improved or looked upon in order to improve the efficiency. Also, they are a part of it and directly connected to it, they can make better decisions as they are aware of the process and the history of the company. Thus, employees opinions and remarks can be a better option for increasing the efficiency.

Moreover, employees can perform in much better way as for them it is a win win situation as the company will grow and perform more effectively so will they grow wiht it. Employees being in different heirarchy levels could easily address problems at each level which would be a cumbersome task for a consultant who has not been a part of that company. For example, the Indian startup OYO rooms ask the feedback of not only of customers but also form their employees as they are at the handling levels and their feedback can be much useful than the third person. Hence, the connectivity at different levels and among employees can help the company with ways to operate efficiently.

However, there are many situations were the company and its employees are not able to provide the solution and sometime incapable to do so. This might be because of lack of knowledge regarding the market. Consultants knowledge and experience is valuable in such circumstances where they could address the issue in less time and provide the solutions regarding it. So, consultants are necessary at some point for increasing the efficiency.

In the conclusion, I can say that the company should listen to their employees as they are attached to the ground levels but consultants are required for few problems are they are better solution provider.