All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

While it is important for companies to listen to their own employees when crafting decisions about company policies or corporate culture, sometimes it is necessary to utilize the servies of outside consultant to step away fromm the issue at hand and receive an unbiased opinion. Ultimately there are three situations in which these two sources of information should be used within a company. First, when a company is trying to make decisions about cost cutting, outside consultants may be used because they can keep emotions out of the decision when reocmmending solutions. Second, When trying to develop a more efficient system it could be helpful to utilize both the feedback of outside consultants as well as the employees to create a unique solution that benefits all stakeholders. Finally, when making decisions about internal policies that must be followed by emloyees, these decsions should place a heavy weight on emplyee feedback.

The first situation mentioned where the use of outside consultants should be relied on is making decisions that are necessary to the operation of the business but may rely on unpopular solutions, such as layoffs. Decisions like these are hard for any manager to make, and where to make the layoffs could become an issue where personal biases may arrise. In this situations the consultants could come in, spend time analyzing all the seperate departments of the company, and identify some of the redundancies that may be minimized. Of course, while this is often criticised as a "cold and heartless" method of cunducting business, usually in this situation there aren't many other options for the company to move forward with. Another way that the risks of this situation can be minimized, is to appoint a group of advisors before hand to create a final plan after the consultants recommendations.

The next situations in which the services of consultants may be used in conjunction with the feedback of employees, is when trying to make systems more efficient. The input of both groups is vitaly important in this situation because while the consultants may introduce ground breaking ideas, there needs to be support among the employees to implement the plan. One example in which this situation would appear is company restructuring. While it may be nice to have an outside source look at the commpany and identify where more efficent communication methods could be implemented these are not always the most resonable for the people that have to use the system. This is when a reiterative feedback process between the consultants and the employees would be used to identify what is the easiest for the employees and what are the most reasonable changes that can be made within the realm of possibilities.

The final situation, which should be soley based on the feedback of the employees, is when making decisions about internal office policies. One example of this recenly is google's policy on politics within the workplace and how to make the campus safe for people with all different veiwpoints. This first came to the light of the public when one employee, Damore, wrote a controversial memo criticsing some members of the google community, for which he was fired. This brought into question on how should situations like this be handled in the future and what stance should Google take. for this, employee feedback would be the momst helpful in deciding what would make them feel safe, productive, and happy in the workplace.

In conclusion, the use of consultants is not a black and white issue, there are many different situations that arrise in a company and many different solutions to these issues. While some dicisions may need to rely heavily on the unbiased opinions of an outside organization, others, such as in the case of Google, need the feedback of their empoyees to make the most informed decisions.