All too often companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultant would be unnecessary

All too often companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultant would be unnecessary. I disagree with the conclusion that if companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

To begin with, consultants are specialists. They are known to possess a range of experience as a result of having to have worked on various projects and they have observed the common mistakes that companies often make in a particular industry. He or she is someone who possesses some level of expertise in that industry either due to some certificates or experience, or a combination of the two. Hiring that consultant means that they will bring their wide knowledge and experience to look at the challenges faced by the company. Their experience and knowledge can quickly help them identify the friction or issues at hand, and therefore they will be able to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently.

More so, a consultant is an outside, somebody who isn't familiar with the working operations of the company. The employees of the company carry out their responsibility every single day, most likely following a set of procedures already established for them by the company. Getting too familiar with this working operarion could have prevented them from observing things differently. Therefore, they can easily overlook certain minor issues which could have led to the impedement of efficient operation. But an outsider with a different perspective is more likely to quickly locate these minor issues and make recommendations as a result.

While this argument focuses more on the experience, knowledge and the outsider perspective of a hired consultant, it is not always the case. This is because sometimes companies do undermine the capability of their employees by not giving them the chance to explore, to seek better ways of doing things, by expecting them to follow an established path. But if instead companies give leeway to the employees to experiment with certain things outside the scope of their work responsibilities, it is very possible that some of the employees, especially the ingenuous ones could come up with novel ways of making the operations more efficient. But this isn't always the case. Most employees get entrenched in their duties that they can no longer think outside of what they are already familiar with. Owing to this, I believe that hiring consultants is imperative for companies.

Hiring new consultants will mean that the company can also save time. Like the saying goes that time is money. It will take the employees some significant amount of productive time to solve the problem. However, this time can be spent on some other pertinent issues the company is dealing with while the hired consultants resolve the problem of efficiency.

While it appears good for the company to listen to ther employees and let them solve operation efficiency problem, it is more beneficial to hire consultants as they can bring their experience and knowledge acquired while working on various similar projects as well as their outside perspective to the job. Lastly, the company also saves more time which is inadvertently, money.