The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment

I agree with the claim that the real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment. This issue lies in fame and talent. While there is a correlation between fame and talent, talent isn't a causality for fame. It is generally known that some musicians are quite famous but not very talented while so many talented musicians aren't famous. Besides talent, becoming famous can be a result of several other factors such as the level of marketing given to a musician's songs, the opportunities available for the musicians, and sometimes the class of which the musician belong in the society.

It can be argued that a musician who is a child of the elite can make it or become famous far easily than a musician who is a child of nobody (provided they both have equal level of talents). But then, there is a distinct factor of disparity between a famous musician and a talented musician is the ability of their songs to become classics. There were many famous musicians in the past centuries, there were many pianists during the time of Mozart or Beethoven but who are no longer heard or even known in the world today. What separates this musicians from Mozart or Beethoven whom people still listen to their symphonies or use them for practice in music school is that the level of talent entrenched in Mozart or Beethoven's symphonies speak for themselves and help place their symphonies in the classical categories.

A similar analogy to this is literature. In the past centuries, some writers were very famous and of course, were talented to some degrees but in the present world, they are hardly remembered when compared to the likes of William Shakespeare, John Milton, or John Steinbeck. While the aforementioned are now dead, a lot of people still read and love their works. The reason is simple--talent resonates in their works, and it is this talent that places their work in the classical category. This is a similar illustration of what happens to musicians as well.

This is not to say that the musicians who were famous in the past centuries weren't talented. Of course, they were but might not be as talented as their counterparts whom we still listen to in the current generation. More so, for some reasons beyond my comprehension, there might have been some musicians who were as talented as the ones we still listen to today or even more talented but whom we don't even know anything about them in today's world. Sometimes, time and chance happen to people. Therefore, while I agree to the claim that the real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, there is a little deviation here which might render this claim fallible.

However, I still agree to the claim to a very large extent. To be able to assess the real talent of a popular musician, it's better for critics to wait several generations after their dead. This is because not all songs have the capability to resonate with people across several generations, across various period of civilizations, across various ethnics unless the songs possess the true mark of what makes a classic. And it is this true mark that shows the true mark of ingenuity in a musician's song.