"A nation should require all of its student to study the same national curriculum before they enter college"

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Should a nation require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college? Yes, to a very large extent, I agree with the aforementioned notion.

To begin with, the same national curriculum ensures that all primary or basic school students and high school students possess equal level of knowledge and skills. Studying the same curriculum means that the students are taught the same topics, they carried out the same kinds of experiments. For instance, in the sciences, in subject like Chemistry, experiments are cogent to the learning and knowledge acquisition of the students and go further to shape their understanding of chemistry-related disciplines in College.

If a high school student A studies basic acid-base titration and a high school student B studies advanced method of extracting Aluminum from Bauxite, and the two students happen to enrol in the same college, student B automatically has an edge or head start over student A because the latter has studied more advanced chemistry concepts. Therefore, student A has been shortchanged and will most likely struggle to catch up with or compete with student B. As a result, studying different curriculum before college leads to variation of knowledge acquisition amongs college students, giving some competitive advantage over some others. While studying the same curriculum may not totally mean there won't be competitive advantage because there are other factors that determine the level of knowledge acquired by students. It could be the quality of the teachers, the rigor of the school, and even the students himself. But nevertheless, different curriculum has a stronger impact than any of these factors, so by allowing pre-college students to study the same curriculum, a large factor responsible for variation of knowledge acquired by the students has been mitigated.

It is not enough to look at the variation in knowledge of pre-college students, but also how the curriculum they students can shape their point of view about certain events and situations. Students who study the same curriculum before college are more likely to have developed the same point of view about critical historical or national issues when compared to students who study different curriculum. Let's take History as a subject as an example.

In the early 60's in Nigeria, a civil war broke out between the Federal Government of Nigeria and a secessionist group, the Independent People of Biafra (IPOB). The Federal Goverment won the war and thereby joined the IPOB back to the federation, again as one nation. This war lasted for three years, and several IPOB members were killed during the war. And after over 50 years, there are still agitations about the events of the war. While students who are from the region of IPOB claim that the genocide against their fathers and forefathers during the civil is unbecoming and thereby demand an apology from the Federal Goverment, students from other parts of the nation feel totally different, claiming that the students from IPOB region don't understand the grave crime their own people commited. Clearly, there is no proper understanding of this war. The reason for this mainly is because of difference in curriculum studied by students in the IPOB region and students in other parts of the nation. The Federal Government jettisoned History as a subject from high school curriculum following the war, and therefore high school students are not being taught in school about what actually trasnpired before, during and aftermath of the war. However, in the IPOB region, the students are being stealthily taught History, especially the history of the civil war.

If these groups of students had possessed equal level of knowledge, they probably would have had almost equal point of view because at this point, there is a brewing violence between IPOB students and students from other parts of the nation as a result of this difference.

In conclusion, I agree to a large extent and recommend that pre-college students should be taught the same national curriculum as this can shape their point of views about crticial national issues as well as avoid variation in their knowledge and give equal advantage to all the students at the start of college.