All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

"Company's reputation comes from where it stand in the current market and how they deals with their compitators. In this, the author claims that companies should make necessary operational changes by referring to their employees feedback rather than hiring an outside consultant for that task. I disagree with the author's view due to certain below-mentioned reasons.

First, outsider will have neutral views. For example, if company would ask their employees to provide a feedback for further improvements needed in the company's infrastructure then they can provide a biased opinion in fear. They will have fear that if they write anything wrong then they may get fired. This case is eventually not be possible if company will hire an outside consultant.

Furthermore, outsider will have complete view of current market and also know where the particular company stands in the market. So, they will have global percepective of a company's reputation and can suggest some changes that can benifit a company. For example, Microsoft hire consultant from outside to know where they currently stand in the market and what are the changes that one can see from outside are required within the company. Thus, it take outside views in consideration which sometimes might be not visible from inside.

In addition to this, outside consultants will be expert in this area they know how to guide company towards the path of success. While, the employee working in the company are only expert in their area or division so they can only provide information limiting to their area. For example the software engineer of Google would only know how their division operates and can only provide that guidance not for other divisions. While, consultant will take all the division in the consideration.

Some can argue that employees know their company well than outsider so, their opinion is what matter most to a company. We can agree to this up to certain extant, but their opinion will highly influenced by what is their salaray, who is their manager and several other factors which can diverge them from stating real problems.

Thus, we can conclude that company can move forward along the path of success if they choose to hire outside consultant plus take the view of some of their employee into the accound while doing any operational changes."