Some students prefer to live on campus in a dormitory and some others prefer an apartment or a house at off campus

There has been no shortage of opinion on whether students should live in campus or off campus. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely select to live off campus due to some of the benefits it offers to me. It is my firm belief that living off campus can help me to socialize more easily that can help me in future for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with living off campus in an apartment provides an opportunity to have some time off from friends and explore the nearby places and make new friends. It can also help to know perspective of different people and learn new things from them. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been strongly influenced by my own personal experience. When I was in Canada for my research internship, I could not be able to get in campus accommodation and I have to get the off-campus accommodation nearby my university. Now, this gave me a chance to interact with new people living in that apartment and also after coming back from work, I feel great to interact with persons on different things not related to work. As my roommate was French so, I also got a chance to learn some French. As a result, living off campus helps me to interact with more people apart from my friends and learn some new things. For this reason, preferring off campus accommodation can give one chance to meet new people and know about them.

Secondly, living off campus can also grab a chance to live with your own family and spend time with them after coming back from university. This can help you in your bad time and also give chance to take care of your parents and spend some time with them. Drawing from my own experience, when I was completing my undergraduate study, I live with my parents and it really helped me as one time I got less grade in one subject, and I was depressed with that in that time my parents motivated me and gave me strength to do better next time. Moreover, my mom fell sick for a week and as I was with them, I take care of her and also managed to handle the house by cooking food and doing work. It's certainly clear to see why living off campus can provide one with an opportunity to increase their family bonding and supporting each other in their bad time.

Now, one can take issue with this claim by contending that living on campus can help one to enjoy their campus life and make stronger bond with their friends. Now this can be true up to certain extent but, we normally spend lot of time on campus and with friends while we are on university and refreshes one's mind by taking some time off from friends and study and keep one energized to stay on track.

In light of the reasons mentioned, I strongly believe that living off campus can keep one feel refreshed at the same time also gave time to one to explore new things and make new friends.