The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The nation is the place where rulers, scientists, a great businessman and the normal people leave their lives. The author claims that the greatness of nation is defined by the general welfare of the people not by the achievements of its rulers, scientists or artists. I completely disagree with this claims due to below-mentioned some of the reasons.

First, it is the people that defines the nation not the rulers, artists or scientists. In a nation there can be few of the great personality that had achieved tremendous in their lives but they are not the one which can represent the whole nation. It is the normal people and how are they feeling by living in this nation is what that defines the greatness of the nation. For example, Vietnam this place has very few popular personality but it is one of the lowest crime nation and people of that place are more happier than others. So, we can conclude that Vietnam is the great nation and it is not defined by famous persons who are originated their it is their people.

Second, how well one had performed or made achievements in their career as no linkage with nation's greatness. They have came up with their hardworking and intellectual power and nation had negligible or no role in their achievements. For example, Christiana Ronaldo a famous football player from Portugal had become great football by his hardwork and talent although Portugal has higher crime rates per capita and it is not the place that people generally preferred to live. Country had no role behinds its achievement and success he had made so far.

Furthermore, the great nations aim to view and fulfill the public demands and to make them feel happier. They take care of their people and this is the important factor while assessing any nation. For example, USA all know that it is the great place to live but what makes them great is not their scientists or rulers, it is the people that are placed in that nation and how well the nation treat their citizens is the major factor that defines the nations greatness.

Although the above points made the claims stronger but some can argue that nation is the place that can gave a person moral boost to achieve their dreams and be a renoun personality. It is also correct up to some extant but it is not always true in all the cases and in most of the cases nation does not play major role in defining person identity. Thus people are the face of the nation and from them we can define how great a particular nation is.

We can conclude that general welfare of the people signals the greatness of the nation. The people who lives in the nation are the face of the nation and how well they are treated defines the superiority of the nation.