Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student field of study

University courses are the ones that provide a student comprehensive learning. A learning that can be used in the real world by the student to solve certain problems. In this the author claims that university should make the rule for the student to take variety of courses outside their field of study. I strongly oppose this view due to certain below-mentioned reasons.

First, the student have taken certain field as per what interest them and they are passionate about that. Now if the university forces them to choose any course outside their field of study in which they have no interest. Then they will just choose the course for the sake of passing and will not acquire any useful learning from that course. This can eventually lead to wastage of resources and time for the university and students.

Secondly, if student would have given the permission to choose any course and they choose the course which totally differ from their field of study then it will not become beneficial for them. For example, if student of computer science choose a subject of law then it is not going to be beneficial for them in the future. Thus, giving student a free hand to choose whatever course out of that field add no value to students’ knowledge.

Third, if student choose the course for which the university did not have any faculty placed than it can occur an extra cost for university to hire that field faculty. Also, if the number of students opting for that particular course are few than it would be wastage of resources for the university. For example, there are many students in one class now if everybody had chosen different course out of their field of study than university will have to hire new faculty. In this case if number of students per subject are less than a few then it worthless to teach that course.

One can argue that the student who choose the course out of their study field can gain complete knowledge of everything and help them to became better person. We can agree to this up to some extant because there are some social subjects from which student can get information about how to become a better person. But, to give complete freedom to choose whichever subject they want can bring wastage of resource and time.

We can conclude that author claims of university to make a rule for student to learn a course out of their study field will not be helpful for the student. The university should made proper list of course which they offer every semester which contains subjects that is out of their field study, but make some linkage. Students should require to opt a subject from that pool which can provide some linkage to their major study. This can benefit students to get knowledge of other field and make them better all-rounder.