Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data indicate that we should use Zeta rather than Alpha for our contemplated new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs.

The author in the memo recommended to give the contract of new building construction of their company to Zeta rather than Alpha. The author came to this conclusion on the basis of the facts like building built by Zeta has low maintenance than Alpha in last years and the energy consumption of the building built by Zeta has been lower than Alpha. The argument at first look seams feasible and valid, however on scrutiny, one can easily argue that apparently, argument is ill considered and full of flaws.

Firstly, both building was built at different region which has different weather condition, but the author didn’t mentioned about any natural cause that are effecting the building which can impact the building construction and can rise the maintenance cost of building built by Alpha. Author also, didn’t mentioned the usage of both the offices it can be possible that building built by Zeta being used by fewer employees than building built by Alpha which can result on lower maintenance cost of building.

Secondly, the author has only compared the maintenance cost of building of the last year since it was built 10 years ago. Author didn’t provided us with the data of remaining year and it can be possible that since last year both building maintenance cost were mostly same or would be inverse as of last year. It can also possible that there may be some natural calamity that causes an increase in maintenance cost of one region.

Thirdly, author had mentioned about the electricity consumption of both the building but didn’t mentioned about the usage of the electric resources in both the building. It can possible that building built by Alpha has more employee than building built by Zeta and the usage of electrical equipment in that building could be less than by Alpha which can result on high electricity consumption at one building than other. Also, the electricity consumption of the building didn’t have any relation with the quality of construction. So, the author’s assumption that building with low energy consumption has higher quality of construction is hard to be asserted.

Finally, the author had only stated that building build by Zeta is 30% more costly than building built by Alpha but the total cost of the construction isn’t mentioned by the author, Also how much increase in the maintenance and electricity consumption isn’t described explicitly by the author. So, it can be possible that the maintenance cost and electricity consumption with construction cost of one building is still lower than the other building total cost occurred till now.

In conclusion, the author’s suggestion to go with the Zeta for the construction of new building rather than Alpha is full of questions which author fails to assert with the presented facts. The author can strengthen the argument if the facts like the region in which the two offices was build, the number of employee working their, how much total cost both building had occurred till now and are their any natural cause effecting building are provided.