College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field

Deciding the major of their study while entering college is a critical step in a student's life. This decision can decide the path of a student's success. In this, the author claims that students should choose a field of study based on the job availability in the market. I disagree with this claim due to the below-mentioned reasons.

First, students should always elect their major in the field they have an interest. If students pursue their interests then their success can be assured in the future. If they make a choice based on the jobs available in the market and they do not have an interest in their field of study then it will not benefit them in their career. They will not take any meaningful learning while pursuing their field of study. For example, if a student who has an interest in computers chooses a mechanical field due to the boom in the job market then a student will simply learn the things to get a degree and take a job. They will not get any fruitful learning from which they can make some innovations in that field.

Furthermore, if the student has an interest in their field of study they will make a successful career in the future. For example, in the current world, we have seen many company's CEO are dropout of college. This happens because they had chosen their field of study not based on their interest and after pursuing it they started to feel it is not the field they want to go with and eventually get dropped out of the field. Furthermore, after dropping out they pursue their interest and become successful in that. So, no matter what are the current job openings in the market if students choose a field of their interest area then they will make job openings for them in the future.

In addition to this it can happen that when students enter college certain field is booming in the market, but when they pass out from college that field has no demand. For example, one of my friend had taken Petroleum Engineering as his field of study seeing the numerous job in that field in the market, although he had an interest in Chemical fields. Now after 4 years when he pass out of college there were almost a few jobs in the market in this field. Although he had chosen a career based on the job market, he had to struggle to get a good job after getting a degree. Thus it is important to take a field of study based on one's interest rather than viewing the job market.

One can argue that what about average students if they choose a field of their interest then after getting a degree they have to struggle because the companies would prefer the top students. Now, if a student would have chosen a field of their interest then eventually they will not remain, average students, they will become the top students and they will get success in their career.

Thus, we can conclude that choosing the right career is a critical aspect of a student's life so, students should choose the field in which they have an interest rather than following the job market blindly. At least choosing a field of their interest will not make them regret it at any point in their life and they will have the motivation to achieve heights in that area.