Do you agree or disagree with the following statement

A student must like a teacher in order to learn from the teacher.

There is no shortage of opinion on whether learning from a teacher is affected by teacher's reputation or image in student's mind. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely agree that student's admiration to their teachers plays major role in students learning from them. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with human nature generally has a tendency to imitate the person they admire or like most. When we like some person, we try to follow them by their habits, speaking like them, behaving like them and finally thinking like them. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. I remember when I was back in my school, there were a professor who take the social science class of us whom I admired the most in school life. So, whenever they came to take our classes, I listen to each and every information conveyed by them and also try to act in the same way. As a result of paying much attention to that class, I learned a lot of things from that professor and also topped in that subject. for this reason, the more you like a teacher, more you could learn from them.

Secondly, disinterest or negative reputation of teacher can lead to not paying attention to their class and not learning from them. We have seen many numbers of times if we not like the teacher then generally we also don't like the subject they are teaching. Drawing from my own personal experience there was one teacher whom I had heard that their lectures are boring and not interesting. Due to this when they came to take one of our subjects, I tend to not pay attention to what they are teaching and also did not like the subject they were teaching in the class. I also do not interact with them because of not liking them and learned nothing from them. It's certainly clear to see why student's interest in the teacher plays critical role on students learning from them.

Now, someone may take stands against this belief by contending that there are many examples in which student's did not like their professor but love their subject and learn from other sources. This argument is true up to some extent, but this cases only occurs if student have some prior knowledge about subject and they find the teaching style of the teacher boring. Generally, we did not have prior knowledge of most of the subject and when we are introduced to that subject by the professor, we did not like we eventually end up not liking the subject and grabbing zero knowledge from professor.

In light of the reasons mentioned, I strongly believe that student's interest in a person teaching them is important factor affecting their learning from that person.