All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary

Here the statement puts forward a question that, is hiring an external consultant does the company operates more efficiently? Hiring a consulatnt depends from company to company and it is based on requirement and condition of the organization. Consultant hiring comes with its own pros and cons, but I do believe that hiring one would surely be beneficial for the company as whole. Let me put forth a few key factors to validate my point: Consultants are the people who are master in their respectie domain. They provide outside the box solutions. Companies hire a consultant when they feel that they are stuck somewhere are their employees would not be able to solve the problem. Let us unbderstand with a help of an example. Let's say there is a ship company and thier ship engine is stuck and it is not getting started, all the employee have tried to start the ship but it didn't start. So, a company hires an external person who has mastery in the ship engine and the person with his experience is able to start the ship engine. So, taking help from a person who is not the employee could help the company to come out of the problem. By hiring a consultant company has many advantages. First, the company could save money by hiring the consultant when the issue arises. Secondly, consultant works in various organization so, they know more about the market requirement and they can provide better analyses about a product or a service that is it going to work in the market or not. Thirdly, consultant are master in the field and they can provide solution which a regual employee may not have thought about. These are the few advantages which the companies has by hiring an external consultants. Not denying the fact, that the compnany should not listen to the solutions provided by their employees. But each employee has its own restriction of knowledge and capability of solving a problem. For instance, it could happen that the employee are stuck at a problem for many days and even after brain-stroming lots of ideas and trying different approches the solution is not coming. In that case by takling help from an external person would be beneficial, as he can see a problem in a different way and might be able to provide the solution. In conclusion, the company should do what it feels would be best for it. If hiring a consultant they feel that it would increase the efficiency and optimise the process then they should hire one. But before the company hires one they should do a proper analyses and have an open discussion with the employees.