Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

One of the charracteristic of an effective leader is their ability to take sound judgement in difficult times. Also, a good leader is also recognized by the relation maintained with his or her peers. But, in terms of their precedence to look for a great leader, it is a predicament to ascertain one of them at the top. Let's have a look at some instances.

In most of the democratic countries, it is a common belief that a party in majority in congress is mainly effective due to the respect amongst several politicians in order to make a sound judgement in policy making. But this is based on the pretense that an idea is envisioned by collective group. In fact, a major factor is left out and that is effective decision making. An effective decision can only be initiated by a sound leader for the party sitting in that session, and because of an initiation of this sound decision is the reason why a congress is established alongside the leader in order to make that decision making even more effective.

Recently, we have been hit by a once-in-a-century pandemic. In these troubled times, a sound moral judgement of a leader was required in order to lead the country in the process of healing and thereby taking tough decisions in this predicament. Not only this would help the country in the healing process, but if done right, the leader would be able to earn and maintain the respect of their peers in the long term, as seen for the Prime Minister of New Zealand.

We have seen a lot of billion-dollar unicorns developed in the past two decades, mainly Apple being at it's pinnacle. As we know, Steve Jobs was removed from the company as many did not respect him in that time as they thought his decisions were rash and damaging to the company. But as he came back, even then he took those challenging decision, but now, he was using them in a way that in current time, there was an agreement to those decisions as they matched the time i.e. a sound moral judgement was taken. That has changed the mindset of those in aversion and even they started respecting him.

In the above instances, we were able to see that a sound moral judgement of a leader can lead to peers respecting him. Also, we saw that both of them can also go hand-in-hand in policy making. So, in the end, I would like to say that it is very important for a leader to maintain respect of their peers, as it can lead to some dire consequences, but it is as important as sound moral judgement of a leader as a leader is tested in dire times, and in those times, both sound moral judgement and support of your peers is needed.