Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers

Essay topics in audio

An effective leader is responsible for taking important decisions which may affect many people. The gravity of these decisions cannot be fully comprehended without the presence of a sound moral compass.

One of the most important characteristic of a leader is his moral compass. It allows a leader to make decisions keeping in mind the ethicality of the impact of those decisions. While not having a sound moral judgment may not appear to be a big flaw, it can lead to the misuse of power or position by the leader. Also, the respect of peers can be earned by making morally sound decisions which can best achieve the desired outcome. Thus, while maintaining the respect of peers is an important characteristic in itself, it can never fulfill the void created by the absence of a strong moral compass.

Secondly, the respect earned from peers could be due to a misplaced sense of reverence to someone who is in a position of power or could be due to a sense of fear for one's life. To take an example: Hitler was well respected by his peers but committed some of the worst atrocities as the supreme leader of Germany. If the peer group with which one is surrounded does not have a sound moral judgment, the leader could be amoral decisions without fearing about the consequences of such decisions.

A sound moral compass also allows a leader to make decisions keeping in mind differing viewpoints of both majority and minority groups and not favor a specific group while making decisions. It is especially a necessary characteristic, for elected officials as they have to make policy decisions, keeping in mind the impact of those decisions for groups with differing characteristics. A sound moral judgment is also required to prevent any unethical use of power against any specific group or to silence groups who are against the view of the leader.

Although a sound moral compass may not be the most important characteristic in a situation such as a war, where a leader might be forced to make decisions which are not morally sound for the greater good, it’s still a desired quality which separates respected leaders from others.

Thus, a sound moral compass is a necessary and important characteristic in a leader and cannot be replaced by the ability of a leader to maintain the respect of his or her peers.